New Chairman of County Council Elected


Drangan councillor, Jimmy O'Brien (FG) is the new and last Cathaoirleach of the South Tipperary County Council in its current guise.

Mr O'Brien was elected as Chairman this week and his nomination was unopposed.  He was co-opted onto the council in 2006 upon the death of his father, Cllr Michael O'Brien.  The Fine Gael councillor will be supported in the role by Cllr Tom Acheson who was elected, also unopposed, as the Deputy Chairman.

Cllr O'Brien takes over from Cllr John Crosse who held the position for the past year.