Several Tipperary Councillors Speak Out Regarding Plans To Replace Tipperary Joint Policing Committee


Several Tipperary councillors have spoken out against Government plans to replace the existing Tipperary Joint Policing Committee(JPC) with a different model to handle community safety issues. The existing Committee meets 4 times a year and includes senior Garda, the five Tipperary TDs, 15 nominated councillors, representatives from the farming and business sector and the wider community through 5 members of the Public Participation Network.  Three council officials are also members. Tipperary County Council website hosts the agendas, minutes and crime statistics relating to the Joint Policing Committee

Cllr Roger Kennedy sought support at this week’s plenary meeting for the retention of the committee which he says is an effective communication and policy making body.  The new Local Community Safety Partnerships (LCSPs)will only include 3 councillors and the chairperson will not automatically be a councillor. Each Partnership will develop and oversee a tailored and prioritised Local Community Safety Plan which will be informed by the community itself in conjunction with public services.

Membership of the proposed Partnerships will be broader than that of the existing JPCs and will include residents, community representatives (including youth, new communities and voluntary sector representation), business and education sector representation, relevant public services including the HSE, Tusla, An Garda Síochána and local authorities as well as local councillors. 3 pilot LCSPs have been run in Waterford, Longford and Dublin City and the Government is now considering a review of their performance compiled by personnel from University of Limerick which can be viewed here.