Tipp Garda Division Changes To Come Into Effect This Sunday


Changes to the Clare and Tipperary Garda Division are now in effect as of Sunday August 27th and also involve a number of personnel changes.
The Garda Divisions of Clare and Tipperary are being amalgamated into one Garda Division, under one chief superintendent – Colm O’Sullivan, with the Divisional Office based at Ennis Garda Station.
Districts are being merged to form “Community Engagement Functional Areas” and the establishment of a Crime Functional Area, which will be based in Nenagh.
The Operating Model of An Garda Siochana is being restructured to put community policing at the centre of the Division.
Each Division will comprise of four Functional Areas: Community Engagement, Crime, Performance Assurance and Business Services.
This is intended to reduce the amount of administrative activities held by operational Garda.
Each Functional Area is led by a superintendent, with the exception of the Business Services Functional Area which is led by an assistant principal.
Superintendent Conor Dillon, Tipperary Town Garda Station, will hold responsibility for Clare/Tipperary Performance Assurance Functional Area.
Superintendent James Tierney, Nenagh Garda Station is to be responsible for Clare/ Tipperary Crime Functional Area.

Gardaí management says the restructuring will particularly enhance the investigation of crime through the delivery of a greater range of specialised services in local areas, such as the investigation of sexual crime, domestic violence, cyber-crime, and economic crime.

The Operating Model will see the number of Garda Divisions reduced from 28 to 21.
Under the Operating Model, all Garda stations and former Districts have been aligned to a Community Engagement Functional Area covering the following areas:
Tipperary Central Community Engagement: Superintendent Eddie Golden
Thurles, Templemore, Killenaule, Holycross, Ballingarry South, Littleton, Borrisoleigh, Moyne, Shevry, Templederry, Templetuohy, Tipperary Town, Bansha, Cappawhite, Emly, Golden
East Clare-Tipp North Community Engagement: Superintendent Oliver Baker
Nenagh, Roscrea, Newport, Borrisokane, Toomevara, Cloughjordan, Dolla, Lorrha, Moneygall, Portroe, Killaloe, Scarriff
Community Engagement Tipperary South: Superintendent Kieran Ruane
Clonmel, Carrick on Suir, Fethard, Kilsheelan, Mullinahone, Cahir, Cashel, Ardfinnan, Clogheen, Ballyporeen
Community Engagement Clare: Superintendent John Ryan
Ennis, Shannon, Tulla, Crusheen, Sixmilebridge, Newmarket on Fergus, Kilrush, Kilkee, Kilmihil, Kildysart, Ennistymon, Miltown Malbay, Corofin, Lisdoonvarna, Ballyvaughan.