Chair Of Tipp Town Chamber Praises Councillors For N24 Roadworks Courage


Six Tipperary Councillors have been thanked for showing courage for voting against proposed road works in Tipperary Town. The Chairperson of Tipperary Town Chamber of Commerce, Joe Hayes, said that they saved the town.

Mr. Hayes, a local businessman, was reporting on a meeting held with the Minister for transport, Eamon Ryan, held last Friday. Representatives from Jobs4Tipp, March4Tipp, and Tipperary Town Chamber attended the meeting. Mr. Hayes said that we wanted to thank, in particular, Cllrs Tony Black, Ann-Marie Ryan, Andy Moloney, Mary-Hanna Hourigan, Mairín McGrath & Declan Burgess. He complimented them for taking the time to walk the streets and listen to local concerns about the proposed design.

Mr. Hayes also said that Cllrs Mattie McGrath and Jackie Cahill had been helpful in arranging meetings with TII, the Ministers for Public Expenditure & Transport. He said that the 3 organisations in Tipperary Town were working to find a solution to traffic congestion in the town.