23 Candidates Registered For The Tipperary Cashel MD Local Elections


A total of 23 candidates have registered to contest the June 7th local elections in the Tipperary Cashel MD – the deadline to enter the election was noon on Saturday May 18th.

There are 13 candidates for the 7 seats in the Tipperary Cashel Local Electoral Area(LEA) and a total of 10 candidates for the 4 seats in the Cahir Local Electoral area. The Tipperary Cashel  LEA includes candidates for  Sinn Fein(Cllr Anne Marie Ryan, Cllr Tony Black, Molly Browne)  Fianna Fáil(Cllr Roger Kennedy, Jacqui Finnan) Independents (Liam Browne, John O’Heney and Peadar O’Donnell), The National Party (John McGrath) and Fine Gael(Cllr Declan Burgess, Cllr Mary Hanna Hourigan, Cllr John Crosse and Matthew Fogarty).

Voters in Cahir will have candidates from Sinn Fein(Cathal O’hEanna) Social Democrats(Alan Moynihan), Independents(Cllr Andy Moloney, Tom Hennessy, Bill Fitzgerald and Shane Smith)  Fine Gael(Marie Murphy) and Fianna Fáil(Cllr Micheal Anglim, PJ English).

Today is the final day for voters to register in time for the elections in the June 7th vote which also includes elections for the European Parliament. Voters can register or update their details by using the ChecktheRegister website or by contacting the Council office.