15 Candidates To Contest In The Thurles Templemore Municipal District Local Elections


A total of 15 candidates will contest the 9 Council seats in the Thurles Templemore Municipal District on June 7th. The District is divided into two Local Electoral Areas(LEAs) for the election with 4 Councillors to be elected in the Roscrea-Templemore LEA and 5 Councillors to be elected in Thurles LEA.

There are 8 candidates for the 4 seats in the Roscrea-Templemore Local Electoral area – sitting Fine Gael Councillor Noel Coonan is not contesting this election.  Fianna Fáil will have two candidates sitting Councillor Michael Smith and Deirdre Ryan, The Green Party candidate is Aisling Maloney, Fine Gael will run one candidate in William Kennedy, Sinn Fein one candidate in Brendán O’Conchuir, Labour will also run one candidate in Jordan Lewis and there are two Non – Party or Independent Candidates Cllr Shane Lee and Cllr Eddie Moran both part of Team Lowry connected to Tipperary TD Michael Lowry.

Six Candidates will contest the five seats in Thurles LEA where sitting Councillor Seamus Hanafin, Fianna Fáil, is not standing for re-election. The candidates are as follows –  Sinn Fein Dan Harty, Fianna Fáil Cllr Sean Ryan, Kay Cahill Skehan, Fine Gael Cllr Peggy Ryan, and two candidates listed as non-party or Independent Cllr Jim Ryan and Cllr Micheal Lowry  – the latter is part of the Team Lowry group of Councillors.