Thurles Woman Among Variety’s Actors To Watch For 2022


A Tipperary woman is among 10 actors who’ve been honored as part of Variety’s 10 Actors to Watch for 2022.

Thurles native’s Kerry Condon – Known for her roles on “Better Call Saul” and “Ray Donovan,” Condon will next be seen opposite Colin Farrell and Brendan Gleeson in Martin McDonagh’s “The Banshees of Inisherin.”

The list dates back to 1998, with past honorees include many future Oscar winners and nominees including Mahershala Ali, Timothée Chalamet, Viola Davis, Adam Driver, Brie Larson and Lupita Nyong’o.

This year’s honorees will be feted in the Oct. 12 issue of Variety and at the Newport Beach Film Festival Honors, a brunch reception held on Oct. 16 that also celebrates some of the best and brightest in the entertainment world.

The event will be held in conjunction with Visit Newport Beach and the Newport Beach Film Festival.

Gregg Schwenk, CEO of the Newport Beach Film Festival says “With a significant amount of guild and Academy voters attending, the Newport Beach Film Festival Honors event has become a must-stop for the awards campaign season,”.

“The annual celebration hosts industry legends side-by-side with rising stars from Variety‘s 10 Actors to Watch.”

Steven Gaydos, senior VP global content/executive editor of Variety, “However it happened – whether it was COVID, the rise of streamers, the internationalization of film and tv – compelling storytelling is happening every at once, as further evidenced by this year’s 10 Actors to Watch.

These ten are bursting out of movies, but movies of all kinds from all places. And from long-form shows that match their big screen counterparts in buzziness, creative impact and opportunities for these ten to create new, unforgettable characters. And so they have. I look forward to seeing the rest of the world recognize their talent in the coming weeks as their movies play festivals and theaters.”

This year’s 10 Actors to Watch includes Stephanie Hsu, Ximena Lamadrid, Christina Jackson, Thuso Mbedu, Zen McGrath, Amber Midthunder, Sam Nivola, Jeremy Pope and Joseph Quinn.