Polling Stations Open For Council & European Elections


Polling stations are open across the country as voters take part in up to three electoral contests – the local Council elections, the European Parliament elections and for voters in County Limerick a contest for a first time directly elected Mayor.

Polling stations opened at 7am and will close at 10pm this evening.

Voters in county Tipperary will elect 40 councillors from 70 candidates for Tipperary County Council across the five Municipal Districts.

In the Tipperary Cahir Cashel MD there are 23 candidates for the 11 council positions – 7 in Cashel Tipperary Local Electoral Area(LEA) and four councillors to be elected in the Cahir LEA.

Voters in County Tipperary, which is part of the Ireland South Constituency for the European Parliament will help to elect 5 Members for the Parliament from the 23 candidates on the ballot paper.

Ballot boxes will be opened tomorrow morning with votes then sorted and verified at the Tipperary County Centre at the Presentation Convent Sports Complex in Thurles.

The votes for the European Parliament will be counted at the regional centre in Cork.  Votes for the Limerick Mayoral contest will be counted on Monday.

Tipp Mid-West Radio will provide extensive coverage of the Local Election 2024 results this weekend.

On Saturday and Sunday, we will have hourly updates live from the count centre in Thurles from 10am. A special programme will also be broadcast to analyse and recap on the weekend events between 7 and 8pm on Sunday night (June 9th).

There will also be updates on our social media platforms Facebook and Instagram throughout the weekend.