Retiring ETB Staff Members Honoured In Ceremony by Tipperary ETB

Tipperary ETB retired staff presentations at the Anner Hotel, Thurles, back row, Mary Byron (Coláiste, Dún Iascaigh, Cahir), Matthew Carr (Borrisokane Community College), Geraldine Egan (Templemore College of Further Education), Fr Lorcán Kenny (Coláiste Phobal Ros Cré), Carmel Phillips (Community Education South), Breda Lonergan Ryan (Adult Literacy South), PJ O'Connell (Coláiste Mhuire Co-Ed, Thurles). Front row, Teresa Nash (St Ailbe's, Tipperary Town), Pauline Fitzgerald (St Ailbe's, Tipperary Town), Bernadette Cullen (Chief Executive, Tipperary ETB), Cllr Mary Hanna Hourigan (Chairperson, Tipperary ETB), Clodagh Kelly (Director of Schools, Tipperary ETB), Margaret Connolly Loughman (Borrisokane Community College). Photo: Odhran Ducie

Tipperary Education and Training Board honoured 18 of its former staff members at its biannual 2024 Retired Staff Presentation at the Anner hotel recently.

The retirees, which included a principal, teachers, tutors, special needs assistants, and support staff, among others, served for a total of 425 years in Tipperary ETB, and the former vocational educational committees. The staff members who retired were each presented with a Tipperary Crystal vase and a citation to mark their achievements in the education sector.

Chief Executive of Tipperary ETB, Bernadette Cullen, thanked the retiring staff members for their professionalism and commitment to the ETB’s core values of Excellence, Equality, Respect, Care and Community during their education careers.

Included in the group were Pauline Fitzgerald and Teresa Nash, Special Needs Assistants at St Ailbe’s (Tipperary Town) and Lisa Laaksonen (Rice), a retiring Teacher at St Ailbe’s.