Cahir House Hotel To Host Agriculture & Rural Issues Debate Ahead Of The European Parliament Elections


The Cahir House Hotel is to host a debate focused on agriculture and rural issues in the Ireland South Constituency ahead of the European Parliament Elections on June 7th.  A total of 23 candidates have declared to run for the contest to elect 5 MEPS for the Constituency.

The debate is scheduled for Tuesday evening May 28, at 7:30pm. MEP election candidates from major political parties and independent candidates are to take part with Ivan Yates former Minister and broadcaster as host. Admission is free of charge but places must be booked on Eventbrite at this  link here .   The event is supported by the Communicating Europe Initiative 2024 and the Department of Foreign Affairs.

The full list of candidates is as follows –  Derek Blighe(Ireland First), Lorna Bogue(An Rabharta Glas), the following are running as Independents – Graham De Barra, Christopher Doyle, Mary Fitzgibbon, Una McGurk, Michael McNamara, Ciaran O’Riordan, Eddie Punch.

Susan Doyle(Social Democrats), Kathleen Funchion & Paul Gavan(Sinn Fein), Niamh Hourigan(Labour), Billy Kelleher* & Cynthia Ni Mhurchú(Fianna Fáil), Sean Kelly* & John Mullin(Fine Gael), Ross Lahive(The Irish People), Michael Leahy( Irish Freedom Party), Patrick Murphy(Aontu), Grace O’Sullivan*(Green Party), Cian Prendiville(People Before Profit – Solidarity), Mick Wallace*(Independents for Change).  * indicates sitting MEP – Deirdre Clune FG is not seeking re-election.