Shake up of Local Authorities


The Minister for the Environment and Local Government has released the details of what is the biggest shake-up of local authorities in nearly thirty years.

As has been previously announced, the existing two Tipperary County Councils will be merged into one.

The number of county councillors will be reduced from the current forty seven to forty.

As was previously confirmed, town councils in Tipperary, Cashel, Clonmel Carrick on Suir, Templemore, Thurles and Nenagh will be abolished. This will see sixty six town councillor positions scrapped.

Local electoral area will be reconfigured to include Cashel-Tipperary which have seven members. Templemore -Thurles which will have nine members nenagh will also have nine members as will the Clonmel area which will under the new arrangement include Cahir. The Carrick on Suir area which will include Fethard will have six