900 Primary Schools Approved For The Hot Schools Meals Programme


The Minister for Social Protection, Heather Humphreys has announced that 900 primary schools have been approved for the Hot School Meals Programme including 63 schools in county Tipperary.

Today’s announcement means an additional 150,000 children will benefit from nutritious hot meals next year.

The Hot School Meals Programme has expanded significantly over the last 3 years. As of June 2020, there were 30 schools receiving Hot Meals. Today’s announcement means that from April next year there will be over 1,400 primary schools benefiting from Hot School Meals.

The schools approved today responded to a call from the Department of Social Protection for interested schools to submit an application.

900 Primary Schools nationwide responded and these schools are today being invited to participate in the Hot School Meals Programme from April 2024.

The Department of Social Protection provides the funding to schools for the School Meals Programme and it is the responsibility of schools to choose their supplier in an open, fair and transparent manner in accordance with national legislation and EU directives on procurement.

The Tipperary primary schools joining the Hot Meals Programme are listed below:

Ardfinnan, Ballycahill, Ballylooby, Ballytarsna, Barnane, Bishop Harty, Boher, Cashel Deanery, Clonmore, Clonoulty, Cloughjordan, Convent of Mercy, Gaelscoil Aonach,

Gaelscoil Chluain Meala, Grangemockler, Gurtagarry, Hollyford, Kiladangan, Killea,

Killurney, Lackamore, Lisronagh, Lisvernane, Monard, Mount Bruis, Moyglass,

Nenagh Community National School, Poulacapple, Powerstown, Presentation Primary School, Roscrea, An Droma, An Grainseach, Ard Croine, Baile Na Hinse, Baile Sluagh,

Chiarda Naofa, Chluainin, Chuirt Doighte, Cill Siolain, Cleireachain, Colmain Naofa,

Flannain Naofa, Iosef Naofa, Lios An Halla, Na Maighne, Na Mbuachailli, Naomh Padraig Naomh Peadar, Rath Chaomhghin, Sceichin A Rince, Scoil Ailbhe, Scoil Iosagain, Scoil Mhuire(2 – roll numbers 18538V & 19640R), Scoil Naomh Cualán, Shronell,

Mhuire Na Naingeal, St Mary’s Convent, St Marys, Tankerstown, Thomastown and Two Mile Borris.