Ireland South MEP Deirdre Clune Not Contesting 2024 European  Parliament Elections


Current Ireland South MEP Deirdre Clune is not contesting next year’s European  parliament Elections.   The Fine Gael  MEP is the second member of her party to make such a decision – last week Dublin MEP Frances Fitzgerald also announced that she would not be a candidate next June.   Ms Clune has been an MEP since 2014 and was previously a TD for Cork South Central and a Senator. Ms Clune is thanking her family for their support. Ms Clune previously served as a Cork City Councillor and Mayor of Cork.

Fine Gael is expected to select European candidates in the new year following the completion of the boundary review of constituencies which is to be published before the end of the month. Due to population increases and the redistribution of the UK’s  European Parliament seats an extra seat is expected to be assigned to the Midlands-North-West constituency of Ireland. The Ireland South Constituency which  includes county Tipperary elects 5 Members of the European Parliament – the other four sitting MEPS are Sean Kelly Fine Gael, Billy Kelleher Fianna Fáil, Grace O’Sullivan Green Party and Mick Wallace Independent 4 Change.