Freemount Macra Named Overall Macra Club of the Year


Freemount Macra has been named overall Macra Club of the Year at this year’s Club of the Year awards, which are sponsored by National Broadband Ireland.  This year’s competition featured additional regional awards and an award for best emerging club. As part of the Club of the Year Competition, awards for Best New Macra Member are presented to an individual Macra member in each region. 

Marie Walsh from Kinsale Macra is the Munster winner. Freemount emerged as national overall winners after winning the Munster title – Kilmuckridge Macra, Co Wexford are the Leinster champions while the Three parishes Macra Club in Mayo are the Northwest regional winners. The title of best emerging club went to Wilkinstown Macra in County Meath.

The Club of the Year competition is designed to encourage clubs to be dynamic and active, rewarding their achievements and contributions at both a local and national level.