Closing Date For 2024 Local Election Nominations In May


Saturday May 18th is the closing date for nominations to stand in the 2024 Local Election according to the Returning Officer for Tipperary County Council  Mr Ger Walshe. Nominations must be submitted by the noon deadline. Nomination guidelines and forms have now been published on the council website.  Candidates can be nominated by a political party, by submitting 15 signatures of registered voters or by paying a deposit of €100.

There are 8 separate Local Electoral Areas(LEAs) across the five Municipal Districts in the county.  The 8 LEAs are Cahir, Cashel Tipperary, Carrick on Suir, Clonmel, Nenagh, Newport, Roscrea Templemore and finally Thurles.  A total of 40 councillors will be elected for a five-year term of office.

Nomination papers may be obtained from the Council offices in Clonmel, Nenagh, Carrick-on-Suir, Tipperary town or Thurles during the usual office hours or via the Council website. The Returning Officer is required by law to be available to receive nominations in person between 10 am and 12 noon and between 2 pm and 5 pm on Friday the 17th of May 2024 and between 10 am and 12 noon on Saturday the 18th of May 2024.

Completed nomination papers can be delivered to the Returning officer in person by appointment by the candidate or his/her proposer from 10am on Saturday 11th May 2024 The election will take place on June 7th with polling stations open between 7am and 10pm. Voters are encouraged to check that they are registered to vote.  May 11th is the latest date to apply for a postal vote while May 20th is the latest date to register to vote.  Full details are available on the website