Fine Gael To Hold Contest To Select General Election Candidate For South Tipp

Fine Gael Logo
Fine Gael party logo.

There is to be a contest in Fine Gael to select the party candidate for the next General Election in South Tipperary.

The party ran two candidates in the 2020 election Garret Ahearn and Mary Newman – both failed to get elected. Garret Ahearn was subsequently elected to the Seanad. 

The next general election, due before March 2025 will see a dramatically changed constituency with Tipperary now divided into two 3 seat constituencies North and South.

Clonmel based Councillor Michael Murphy is to seek the party nomination for the next general election.

The selection convention is to be held later this month.

Cllr Murphy is expected to run in the 2024 local elections set for June 7th.

Senator Garret Ahearn is already committed to seeking the party nomination.  

Cllr Murphy has served as Mayor of Clonmel and Cathaoirleach of Tipperary County Council during the course of his 16 career in public office.

Cllr Murphy is also a member of the Southern Regional Assembly and is the head of the Irish Delegation to the EU Committee of the Regions.