Three Tipp Towns Eligible For New Fund To Tackle Vacancy/Dereliction


Three towns in County Tipperary are eligible for a new fund intended to tackle vacancy and/or dereliction in Heritage Buildings. Clonmel, Thurles and Nenagh are eligible to put forward projects to the new €120 million scheme to support local authorities and their citizens to re-imagine town centres and to transform publicly owned vacant or derelict heritage buildings within those town centres through renovation, renewal, and adaptive reuse.

THRIVE – the Town Centre First Heritage Revival Scheme – was launched by Minister of State for Local Government and Planning Kieran O’Donnell TD.

THRIVE is co-funded by the Government of Ireland and the European Union and managed by the Southern Regional Assembly and is now open for applications.  THRIVE will provide local authorities with funding of between €2m and €7m to renovate, refurbish and adapt vacant and derelict heritage buildings in their town centres.

Grants of between €40,000 and €200,000 are available to support local authorities with the planning and design phase of such projects.