Tipperary Cahir Cashel Municipal District To Hold AGM Next Monday


The Tipperary Cahir Cashel Municipal District will hold it’s AGM on Monday(June24)The 11 councillors returned in the Cashel Tipperary  and Cahir LEAs will now serve a 5 year term in office.

The Agenda for Monday’s meeting is limited to electing a Cathaoirleach and Leas Cathaoirleach, nominating councillors to 3 outside bodies and agreeing a schedule of Meetings. It is understood that  Fine Gael will nominate a member for the position of Cathaoirleach as FG/FF control 6 of the 11 seats with a Fianna Fáil  member likely to be Deputy  Chair or Leas Cathaoirleach.
The meeting will be the first Municipal District Meeting for the newly elected Independent Councillors John O’Heney and Liam Browne.  Outgoing Sinn Fein Councillor Tony Black was not re-elected and Cllr Michael Fitzgerald FG did not seek re-election after serving as Councillor since 1979.

Monday’s AGM begins at noon and will also include the appointment of councillors to local committees – 3 councillors will be nominate to the Cashel City Walls Steering Committee,  2 councillors will be nominated to the EU Charter of Rural Communities and  one councillor will be nominated to the Tipperary Revitalisation Task Force.  The councillors will also be asked to agree a schedule  of meetings for the Council term with the proposal being put forward for the last Monday in each month to be set as the day for monthly meetings.