Cllr Declan Burgess Elected As Cathaoirleach Of Tipperary County Council

Declan Burgess

Tipperary County councillors have elected Cllr Declan Burgess as Cathaoirleach for the coming year. The Fine Gael Councillor from Cashel will be 29 on Sunday and is the youngest ever Cathaoirleach in Tipperary County Council. Fianna Fail Councillor Imelda Goldsboro is the new Leas Cathaoirleach. The member from the Carrick on Suir District has topped the poll in the last two Council elections and is a hugely popular appointment.

The meeting also appointed 7 councillors to chair the Council Strategic Policy Committees – These posts will be filled by Cllrs Jim Ryan, Andy Moloney,  Michael Smith, Marie Murphy, Mary Hanna Hourigan,  Imelda Goldsboro and Sean Ryan. In addition, appointments were made to over 20 other committees with some further appointments to be made at the next Council meeting in July.

The Acting CEO of Tipperary County Council Sinead Carr welcomed the newly elected councillors and paid tribute to 6 councillors that retired last month and to 2 councillors that lost their seats in the recent elections. Ms Carr is one of a number of candidates for appointment on a permanent basis to the post of CEO and councillors wished her well in the process and paid tribute to former CEO Joe MacGrath for his contribution since North and South Tipperary Councils merged in 2014 to form Tipperary County Council.