Thurles Municipal District Council To Hold AGM Next Monday


Thurles Municipal District Council is to hold it’s AGM on Monday commencing at 10.30am.

The meeting has a number of Agenda items that follow the recent Local elections. There are nine councillors in the district and seven of the outgoing councillors are returned alongside two new councillors Kay Cahill Skehan for Fianna Fail and William Kennedy for Fine Gael.  Two outgoing councillors Seamus Hanafin FF and Noel Coonan FG did not seek election.

On Monday the Councillors will elect a new Cathaoirleach and Leas Cathaoirleach for the coming year and  also make a number of appointments to  boards.

Two councillors will be appointed to each of the boards responsible for Thurles and Roscrea Swimming pools. In addition there are five Drainage committees in the Thurles MD and councillors will be appointed to serve on the committees responsible for the Black River, the Clodiagh River, the Cromogue River,  Farney Bridge/Ballinahow area and Roscrea/Templemore  area.  The final item on Mondays agenda is to agree a schedule of monthly meetings for the Thurles MD for the next year.