Tipperary County Council To Hold AGM Next Week


Tipperary County Council will hold it’s AGM on Friday June 21st. It is understood that the Fianna Fáil, Fine Gael and Labour party have agreed a 5 year pact that will see Fine Gael take the Cathaoirleach position at the AGM followed by Fianna Fáil next year and then Labour’s Fiona Bonfield will be Cathaoirleach in the third year of the 5 year term. FF and FG will also select a member as Cathaoirleach for the final two years up to the 2029 elections. It had been expected that the 3 party pact would see Cllr Bonfield taking the position in the first year. The Newport LEA poll topper is one of 3 Labour Councillors that combined with Fine Gael and Fianna Fáil Councillors hold 23 of the 40 seats on the newly elected Tipperary County Council.

Tipperary County Council nominates councillors to a total of 24 bodies such as Chairs of Strategic Policy Committees, the South and West Regional Health Forums, the local Community Development Committee and the Tipperary Education and Training Board. Some of these appointments may be made on June 21st while others may be deferred until later this year.

Each Municipal District  will also hold an AGM to elect a Cathaoirleach and Leas Cathaoirleach.  Tipperary Cahir Cashel Municipal District AGM is set for Tuesday June 25th.

All 949 councillor seats in Ireland have now been filled.  The Newbridge LEA in county Kildare is the final LEA to conclude it’s count after 4 full recounts.