Counting Of Votes For The European Parliament Election To Resume Today


Counting of votes in the European Parliament elections will resume at 9am today with nine of the country’s 14 seats in the European Parliament still to be filled.

In the Ireland South constituency, Fine Gael’s Sean Kelly remains the only MEP to have been elected. Billy Kelleher(Fianna Fáil) is expected to be elected and there are then five candidates in contention for the final three seats – Sinn Féin’s Kathleen Funchion, Independent Michael McNamara, Mick Wallace of Independents4Change, Fianna Fáil’s Cynthia Ní Mhurchu and the Green Party’s Grace O’Sullivan.

In Midlands-North-West Independent Luke ‘Ming’ Flanagan, Fianna Fáil’s Barry Cowen, and Fine Gael’s Nina Carberry and Maria Walsh are all expected to take a seat. The fifth seat is a close contest between former RTE presenter Ciaran Mullooly and Sinn Féin’s Michelle Gildernew.

The four MEPs for the Dublin Constituency have been elected.