John Moran Elected The New Mayor Of Limerick


Limerick has a new directly elected Mayor after two days of counting votes at Limerick Racecourse.

Independent John Moran was deemed elected on the 12th count with 28,451 votes despite not reaching the quota. The quota was 39,873. Helen O’Donnell, also an independent, finished second with 23,829 votes.

In 2019 Limerick voters agreed to the creation of the post in a plebiscite. The new Mayor will take over many of the roles of the County Council CEO including budgeting, housing and the county Development plan. The County Council CEO will now have the title of Director General but will be paid more than the Mayor.