Macra Reveals New President After Election


The results of the Macra Presidential and Vice-Presidential elections have been officially ratified.  Elaine Houlihan, Kilmallock Branch, becomes the 39th president of Macra and the second female Macra member to serve in the role, following in the footsteps of Catherine Buckley who was the first female Macra President (2007-2009).  
Ms Houlihan will take over from Tipperary Man John Keane and says she is “looking forward to leading Ireland’s most vibrant rural organisation” over the next two years.  

Current National President John Keane congratulated Elaine on her appointment and wished her well during her term of office. 
Aishling O’Keeffe from Banteer Macra Club, Co. Cork is selected for the Munster Vice President position and Robert Lally from Claremorris Macra Club, Co. Mayo will serve as the North West Vice President. Patrick Jordan from Tullow Macra, is the incoming Leinster Vice-President.

The three new Vice Presidents will take up their positions alongside president-elect,­­ ­­Elaine Houlihan at Macra’s National AGM on May 13th, 2023.  

Elaine Houlihan is a Physiotherapist, and a part-time farmer. Elaine joined Kilmallock Macra in 2014 and since joining has been an active member at club, county and national level. Elaine has a keen interest in physical & mental health, agriculture, volunteering, and politics and has completed the Green Cert in Salesian Agricultural College (Pallaskenry). Elaine currently sits on the National Agricultural Affairs Committee, is Chair of the Health and Wellbeing Working Group, is a member of the Macra Women in Ag Working Group and is the current Kilmallock Club President.