Huge Local Success At Munster Restuarant Awards


Photo Credit: Prime 74 Restaurant

There’s plenty of celebrations following success for many local restaurants at the Munster Restaurant Awards last night.

Tipp Town’s Prime 74 and the Junction Gastro Bar and Guesthouse while Cashel’s Saffron Indian Cuisine and Cashel Palace Hotel were among the winners.

Other local establishments to recieve awards included O Neill’s Bistro in Thomastown, The Wooden Spoon in Kilcommon, Ranna Ghor Indian Restaurant and Mitchel House restaurant in Thurles.

The Competition is run by the Restaurants Association of Ireland and the county winners were revealed in the Strand Hotel in Limerick.

The competition is made up of 17 Main Award categories and 4 National Award categories and there are 2 brand-new award categories this year– Innovator of the Year and Learning & Development.

The winners in county Tipperary will now go forward to the Regional and National Finals in May.

The Award for Best Restaurant in county Tipperary went to Prime 74 located on Main Street Tipperary town.

The restaurant was recently named as a Tipperary Food Champion 2023 by the Tipperary Food Producers group in recognition of their commitment to sourcing Tipperary Food Producers and their continued use of local ingredients & produce.

The restaurant operated by Chef Martin Lovell includes products from 14 local producers in the dishes it serves giving guests a real “Taste of Tipperary”.

Full list of Co. Tipperary winners and their categories:

Prime 74 – Best Restaurant of Tipperary

Stephen Hayes of Cashel Palace – Best Chef of Tipperary

Matt The Thresher Inn – Best Gastro Pub in Tipperary

Junction Gastro Bar and Guesthouse – The Best Customer Service in Tipperary

Bishops Buttery in Cashel – Best Hotel and Guesthouse in Tipperary.

O Neill Bistro – Best Casual Dining Award in Tipperary

TJ Macs Bar – Pub of the Year in Tipperary

Up Eats Cafe – Best Newcomer Award in Tipperary

Ranna Glor Indian Restuarant – The Best World Cuisine Award in Tipperary

The Wooden Spoon – Best Cafe Award in Tipperary

  • Bodega 1830 – Best Wine Experience Award in Tipperary

Catherine O Donnell of Mani Restaurant – Best Restaurant Manager in Tipperary

  • Mitchel House Restaurant – Best Emerging Irish Cuisine in Tipperary

Saffron Indian Restaurant – Best Free From in Tipperary

De Róistes – The Innovator of the Year

Talbot Hotel – Best Sustainable Practices in Tipperary

Con Traas of Apple Farm – Local Food Hero Award in Tipperary