Co. Tipp Sees No Change For Social Housing Income Eligibility Model


The Department of Housing is to scope and develop a new social housing income eligibility model.

This is expected to be completed by the end of the year.

The Department has confirmed that the income eligibility limit for social housing will change in five counties on October 1st.

Carlow, Clare, Galway County, Laois and Westmeath – will be moved from Band 3 to Band 2 of the income eligibility model.

As a result, the baseline income eligibility threshold for these areas will increase from €25,000 to €30,000 for a single person and from €30,000 to €36,000 for a family.

The change reflects the movement in rents in recent years in these areas and ensures local authority areas with similar accommodation costs continue to be grouped together in the respective bands according to the Department.

No change for County Tipperary means that the limits for a single person remain at €25,000 and at €30,000 for a family of 2 adults and 4 children.

Alongside Tipperary in Band 3 are counties Cavan, Donegal, Leitrim, Longford, Mayo, Monaghan, Offaly, Roscommon and Sligo.

For Band one the income limits are €35,000  for a single person and €42,000 for a family while for Band two the limits are €30,000  for a single person and €36,000 for a family.

Band one includes counties Cork City, Dublin City, Dún Laoghaire, Rathdown, Fingal, Galway City Meath, South Dublin, Kildare, Wicklow.

Band Two now includes counties Carlow, county Cork, Clare, Galway county,  Kerry, Kilkenny, Laois, Limerick City and County, Louth,  Westmeath, Wexford, Waterford City & County