New Technological University Established


A new Technological University has been established in the South East of Ireland  to be known as South East Technological University (SETU).

Waterford Institute of Technology and IT Carlow will be dissolved and a stand-alone university presence in the region will be created by their joint programmes.

The new TU has total student population of some 18,500 students at 4 campuses.

This is the fifth TU to be created since 2019 and represents a milestone in higher-education provision for the South East, which has never had its own university rooted in the region.

The TUs are expected to make a contribution to regional development by attracting talent, inward investment and research opportunities. Students graduating in the current 2021 to 2022 academic year will do so with university-level qualifications.

LIT and AIT have combined to form TUS the Technological University of the Shannon with campuses in Clonmel and Thurles.