Tipperary Institutes Granted University Status


The Minister for Further & Higher Education, Simon Harris, has today granted Technological University designate status to Athlone & Limerick Institutes of Technology.

This is the third Technological University to be created since 2019, and is a milestone for the Midlands & Mid-West. The move will also include the two LIT campuses in Tipperary – Thurles and Clonmel.

The process to designate a new Technological University is enshrined in the Technological Universities Act 2018. The next steps in the process require the Minister to bring forward a draft order establishing the appointed day in which he new status will be legally established, and Athlone and Limerick ITs consequentially dissolved for approval by the Oireachtas

Students graduating in the 2021-2022 academic year will do so with University qualifications.