The latest news from the Tipperary Midwest Community Radio news desk!Follow the Tipp mid West Radio newsroom on Twitter!

Print E-mail
Written by Nora Samworth   
Tuesday, 26 January 2016 17:47
The Environment Minister and Deputy Labour Leader Alan Kelly has flatly rejected any suggestion that his party would do business with Michael Lowry if a number of independent TDs were needed to prop up the next government.
Speaking of his constituency rival, Mr Kelly said that the Labour party would never work with or ask for the support of anyone like Michael Lowry.
Last Updated ( Tuesday, 26 January 2016 17:48 )
The HSE plans to invest in two new nursing home facilities as part of its forthcoming capital projects.
According to Environment Minister Alan Kelly, as part of the plans, Cashel will see a new 100-bed unit for St Patrick’s Nursing Home and a new 50-bed unit is planned for St Conlan’s in Nenagh.
Print E-mail
Written by Nora Samworth   
Tuesday, 19 January 2016 18:00
The Minister for Agriculture has today said that while it may be unusual for the CEO of an organisation like the FAI to canvass for a politician, it is his personal choice.  However, Simon Coveney noted that Ireland is a democracy and John Delaney is entitled to canvass if he so chooses.
Minister Coveney was responding to comments made by Mr Delaney in a recent interview with Tipperary Mid West Radio during a visit he and the Environment Minister Alan Kelly paid to Cooke Park in Tipperary town on Friday.
During the interview, Mr Delaney spoke warmly of Alan Kelly and his track record in government.
He also spoke of the importance of having a minister in Tipperary, adding that he hoped voters would remember Mr Kelly’s contributions.
However, Mr Delaney’s comments have been seized upon by politicians elsewhere in the county, with Sinn Fein’s Mary Lou McDonald describing them as ‘inappropriate’
Some supporters of Mr Delaney however, have denied the FAI chief was engaged in a canvassing campaign for Minister Kelly.
Page 3 of 312